According to Turkish law, there are universities, faculties, institutions, and four-year schools. These schools offer degrees at various levels or stages: associate & bachelor& master& and doctorate.

Stage 1 Associate Degree: Students who complete the first stage of a four-year, two-stage program, earn an associate degree

Stage 2 Bachelor’s Degree: A bachelor’s degree is awarded after completing four years of study.

Dentistry, architecture and veterinary medicine require five years of study.

Medicine takes six years, leading to the qualification of Medicine Doctor (MD).

An Engineering Diploma is awarded by technical universities and higher technical institutions after four years of study.

Stage 3: A master’s degree and the Higher Engineering Diploma are awarded after two years of study beyond the undergraduate level and require the preparation and defense of a thesis if the program requires.

However, if the program is without thesis then you need to prepare graduation project. Both qualifications are considered to be the equivalent of a master& degree.

Stage 4: A doctorate or PhD degree requires two years of courses and two years of dissertation work. The Proficiency in Art degree is the equivalent of a doctorate in fine arts. A Specialist Degree is equivalent to a doctorate in medical science. The current degree structure of Turkey's higher education conforms to the Bologna Declaration.